Future So Bright

Rashi - 12 Zodiac Signs Of Vedic Astrology

Article posted on July 21, 2012 and it has been read by 9872 people

Vedic AstrologyThe zodiac and astrology are synonymous. It is a circle of light and consequently knows no beginning or no end. As per the Hindu myth and Vedic astrology, there are nine planets that affect our terrestrial phenomena. Their Sanskrit equivalent and the symbols used by Western Astrologers are also given here for your ready reference.


The nine important planets are:

  1. Sun – Surya or Ravi.
  2. Moon – Soma or Chandra.
  3. Mars – Kuja or Angaraka.
  4. Mercury – Budha or Soumya.
  5. Jupiter – Guru or Brihashpati.
  6. Venus – Shukra or Bhargava.
  7. Saturn – Sani or Manda.
  8. Dragon’s head – Rahu or Thama.
  9. Dragon’s Tail – Ketu or Sikhi.




Vedic astrology or Hindu astrology has been derived from the Vedas – the prime Hindu text of philosophy. It is the study of the positions of different planets with respect to the zodiac and the effect of these planets on an individual. The zodiac is divided into 12 signs or rashis. In Sanskrit, a rashi means a heap or a cluster. As per the Vedic astrology the twelve signs of the zodiac are:


  1. Mesha – Aries.
  2. Vrishabha – Taurus.
  3. Mithuna – Gemini.
  4. Kataka – Cancer.
  5. Simha – Leo.
  6. Kanya – Virgo.
  7. Thula – Libra.
  8. Vrischika – Scorpio.
  9. Dhanus – Sagittarius.
  10. Makara – Capricorn.
  11. Kumbha – Aquarius.
  12. Meena – Pisces.




Janam KundaliIt may sound a bit absurd, but it is the fact that each zodiac sign has certain peculiarities attributed to it by ancient maharishis. For instance, each sign represents some element in nature such as fire, air, earth and water.


Movable signs are Aries, cancer, Libra and Capricorn. Whereas, Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius are fixed signs. Again Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces are said to be common signs.


Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius and Aquarius are known as odd signs.


Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn and Pisces are classified as even signs.


It is generally said that all the odd signs are cruel and masculine signs, while the characteristics of the even signs are that they mild and feminine. Again we have an account of the fiery signs namely, Aries, Leo and Sagittarius. Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn are earthy signs; Gemini, Libra and Aquarius are airy signs and finally Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces are classified under watery signs.




Zodiac AstrologyCancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio and Sagittarius generally symbolize long ascensions and those of short ascensions are Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces, Aries, Taurus and Gemini. Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces are fruitful, whereas Gemini, Virgo and Leo are barren.


Those signs which rise by their heads are Gemini, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio and Aquarius is all powerful during the day time. While the signs of Aries, Taurus, Cancer, Sagittarius and Capricorn are said to be powerful during the night.


Along with the moon sign the sign that is ascending at the time of birth is also considered very important in Vedic astrology. This is the sign in the eastern horizon at the time of birth and is known as the Lagna or the Vedic Ascendant. This sign changes in every two hours and all 12 signs of the zodiac ascend in one period of 24 hours. Rashis play an important role in understanding an individual.


This article was tagged : Vedic, Sign, Rashi, Lagna, Moon, Signs, Astrology, Hindu
Rate This Article