Future So Bright

Lagna In Vedic Astrology

Article posted on December 2, 2012 and it has been read by 12565 people

Vedic astrology or Hindu astrology has been derived from the Vedas – the prime Hindu text of philosophy. It is the study of the positions of different planets with respect to the zodiac and the effect of these planets on an individual. The zodiac and astrology are synonymous. It is a circle of light and consequently knows no beginning or no end.


According to the Hindu astrology, there are nine planets that affect our terrestrial phenomena. Their Sanskrit equivalent and the symbols used by Western Astrologers are also given here for your ready reference. The nine important planets are:


  1. Sun – Surya or Ravi.
  2. Moon – Soma or Chandra.
  3. Mars – Kuja or Angaraka.
  4. Mercury – Budha or Soumya.
  5. Jupiter – Guru or Brihashpati.
  6. Venus – Shukra or Bhargava.
  7. Saturn – Sani or Manda.
  8. Dragon’s head – Rahu or Thama.
  9. Dragon’s Tail – Ketu or Sikhi.


As per the Vedic astrology, very often we come across the term Lagna or the 'rising sign.' The term Lagna or Ascendant means, the constellation which was rising at the eastern horizon at an individual’s place of birth and at his time of birth. The Rising Sign signifies the individual’s personal self and his physical body. It also determines his stature and physical structure, his longevity, his general health and his personality.




In short, Lagna establishes the kind of body, health, life or endurance, as well as noticeable qualities of an individual evident to the world. The Lagna of an individual varies with the time of the day and the place of his birth. So people belonging to all the 12 zodiac signs are born on the earth at any given moment or instance. It is described in terms of longitude of the position of the moon. Vedic astrology is based on sidereal astrology.


The zodiac is divided into 12 signs or rashis. In Sanskrit, a rashi means a heap or a cluster. Vedic astrology gives more importance to the moon sign or the Rashi chart than the sun. The moon is responsible for our emotions, intellect and material wealth.


Lagna describes in detail about characterizes of people born in a particular ascendant according to Vedic Astrology.

The different rashis or zodiac signs are mentioned below:





Rashi Names:

1.Mesha -- Aries
2.Vrishabha --Taurus
3.Mithuna --Gemini
4.Karka --Cancer
5.Simha --Leo
6.Kanya --Virgo
7.Tula --Libra
8.Vrishchika-- Scorpio
9.Dhanus --Sagittarius
11.Kumbha-- Aquarius


Along with the moon sign the sign that is ascending at the time of birth is also considered very important in Vedic astrology. This is the sign in the eastern horizon at the time of birth and is known as the Lagna or the Vedic Ascendant. This sign changes every two hours and all 12 signs of the zodiac ascend in one period of 24 hours.



This article was tagged : Rising, Sign, Ascendant, Lagna
Rate This Article