Future So Bright

Chakra Balancing For Kundalini Awakening

Article posted on December 21, 2012 and it has been read by 10214 people

The word Chakra in Sanskrit means wheel. It is also the name given to the spiritual circles or energy centers believed to be located inside a person’s body. According to modern interpretation of various forms of Yoga, there are seven chakras extending from head to rectum and there are also minor chakras from there to legs. These Chakras are connected to each other by Nadis, which are channels within which the spiritual energy is supposed to flow.


All these chakras are located along the central channel. When the Chakra at the base of the spinal cord is brought up to the head and united with the topmost chakra, one is believed to experience a surge of energy and emotions which is called Kundalini Awakening. Let us look at the seven Chakras analysis and how Kundalini awakening or Chakra balancing is achieved.


Kundalini Energy 7 Chakras


The bottom-most Chakra located near the end of spinal cord is the Muladhara Chakra. This Chakra is associated with Lord Ganesha. It is said that Kundalini is located in this Chakra and the Kundalini Shakti lies coiled in three and half turns around smoky grey Lingam (stands for Lord Shiva). It is the base from which the three main Nadis emerge. The three Nadis are Ida, Pingala and Sushumna, which are the three psychic channels. This chakra is considered the root or foundation chakra and is also said to be the female energy (Shakti). The emotions such as joy, happiness, natural pleasure, controlling passion and concentration are achieved by stimulating this chakra.


Swadhisthana is the next chakra positioned at the tailbone and is at two-finger width above Muladhara. It is said that to raise Kundalini Shakti beyond this Chakra is very hard as the sages would face sexual temptation associated with this Chakra. This chakra is associated with the human genitals and is responsible for secretion of male/ female reproductive hormones. The associated deity for this chakra is Lord Vishnu.


Above Swadhisthana chakra is the Manipura Chakra which is said to be located behind the navel. This chakra is associated with digestion, sense of sight and action of movement. One can attain siddhi by meditating on this Chakra. This chakra is said to be centre of dynamism, energy, willpower and achievement. This chakra represents the deity Rudra.


The fourth Chakra called the Anahata chakra is located behind the heart. The associated deity is Isha. Below this chakra, the decision-making ability of a person is limited by his Karma, but from Anahata, he can decide outside his Karma. This chakra is associated with love and compassion, charity to others and forms of physical healing.


Chakra Meditation And BalancingLocated at the neck region is Vishudha Chakra. This is associated with the deity Sadashiva. It is said that when this chakra is opened, one can convert their negative experiences into wisdom and learning and if this is closed, one undergoes decay and death. To move Kundalini beyond this chakra, one should let go of the guilty feelings. This chakra is associated with the ability to hear and speak.


Ajna chakra, the sixth one, is located directly behind the forehead, in between the eyebrows. This chakra is located in the region where Third eye is said to be located. Deity Ardhanarishvara is associated with this chakra. It is believed that Ajna is used to see mental visions and dreams. Also, there is a belief that external spiritual energies enter one’s body through this spot and so, people protect this area with various religious marks like vibudhi, kumkum, etc.  By mastering this chakra, one can control all the three worlds and can enter another body at will.


The topmost chakra is called Sahasrara.It is located at the top of head and when a person makes his Kundalini raise till this chakra, he attains Samadhi. This chakra is considered to be the male energy (Shiva) and the union of Kundalini with this chakra makes the union of male and female energy. Meditating on this chakra transforms a person into divine and able to do whatever one wishes.     


Kundalini awakening is the process in which a person by means of yoga and meditation exercises raises the coiled Kundalini Shakti from Muladhara chakra to Sahasrara chakra at the top. Once a person is awakened by this Kundalini yoga, he/she experiences eternal bliss and total self-knowledge. One should attempt this awakening with the help of a master, because unprepared Kundalini awakening leads to bad energy generated in excess.


And now, onto six ways to open your chakras:

  1. Rigorous and continuous meditation
  2. Letting go of the ego, memories and guilt feeling
  3. Undergoing continuous physical exercises
  4. Having positive thoughts and visualization
  5. Channelizing creative energy through various art forms
  6. Expressing gratitude, love and practicing self-love and oneness.

Above all, one needs to have a real motive and passion to open chakras and attain Kundalini awakening.


So, you have now read about the seven chakras, or the Energy centers and how to awaken Kundalini and raise it via the chakras. Take the Chakra test to know which of your 7 Chakras need to be balanced.





Rate This Article